Fading light over the fens

Thank you all so much for the congratulations on yesterday's news - I'm blushing at all the lovely comments!! I'm afraid I haven't had a lot of time for Blipfoto lately, but it's times like this when I remember what a great community this is - so supportive :)

Today has again been cold and grey, but we took Rosie round the river and then in the late afternoon I took Pete, Chris and Lizzy out to Baston Fen in the hope of seeing the barn owls again. Apparently Lizzy had never seen a wild owl, so I was hoping she wouldn't be disappointed. We repeated the walk I took on Monday, but after a very distant view, we had no further luck. The sky was grey and the north-east wind made it truly bitter. I feared we were on a wild owl chase...

Bracing ourself for disappointment we headed back to the car, but as we approached it we were treated with a breathtaking display of two barn owls flying playfully over the adjacent arable fields and drain. They weren't quite as close as on Monday, but the experience was still pretty spectacular. Unfortunately it was far too dark to get a good photograph with my current camera - so instead I took a quick shot of the dusk sky reflected in the Counter Drain.

We'd just about thawed out when we arrived home. The house smelt deliciously of the roast pork and red cabbage casserole that I'd put in the oven before we left. And the rhubarb and orange meringue pie was a runaway success - enjoyed even by those who don't usually like rhubarb!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.