An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Guardians and Guardian Angels...

......

Today our application to become Alan's Legal Guardians was heard in Court.

As I mentioned in a previous blip, now that Alan is 16 and technically an adult, due to his disability, Alan is seen in the eyes of the law as an adult without capacity to manage his own affairs. This meant David and I had to make an application to Court in order to become his legal guardians.

Whilst this is a necessary step for us to take to ensure we can continue to look after Alan's best interests, it is also quite an emotional thing to do. Strangers from Social Work and other agencies visit and write fairly hard to read reports focussed on Alan's incapacity, as well as commenting on our suitability to be Alan's guardians. Whilst necessary to ensure that vulnerable people are not being exploited, as loving parents who have always strived to give Alan the best life possible, it is quite an emotional process.

None more so when during his recent stay in hospital it became apparent we couldn't sign the consent forms for the procedures the docs needed to do so an emergency application giving us interim guardianship powers over medical issues, had to be rushed to court. More stress at an already stressful time.

Today was the full hearing though and I am so relieved to say that we have been granted full Guardianship powers for an indefinite period (sometimes the court only grants it for a few years then you have to go through the whole process again!) so we are very happy.

During the Guardianship process (and during the stress of Alan's recent illness) my thoughts have turned often to my mum, gran and David's mum, who were always such great supports to us and Alan, especially during times of additional stress.

I miss them so much but can still feel them all around me. When Alan was at his sickest, three nights in a row I was awoken from sleep by a hand gently resting on my right shoulder. Each time I thought it was David waking me to tell me Alan needed me (David was sleeping in a camp bed in Alan's room at that point) but each time I turned and no one was there, yet instead of feeling fear, all I felt was a sense of well being. I realised afterwards that I had been visited.

Today I planned to blip the snowdrops in the garden. I've been looking forward to photographing them. Once I got the call from David (who had gone to Court to listen to the Hearing) to say our Guardianship had been granted, I wandered outside to get my blip. There, right in the middle of the snowdrops was this little white feather. I knew immediately upon seeing it that I'd had another visit from my Guardian Angels.

The snowdrops can wait another day. :)))

Happy Friday Blip Pals.....have a fantastic weekend xxx

Previous Visit No 1

Previous Visit No 2

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.