RogMull

By RogMull

A ship at anchor..

Late afternoon and the day's work over, I thought a breath of fresh air in search of a Blip would whet the appetite before tea. So I ventured to Ravenscraig Park in search of some squirrels, perhaps a Calman-Coille or even my friend the Buzzard. It was not to be.

What caught my eye was the ship anchored remarkably near to the Fife side of the Forth, waiting for what I know not. As I reflected on the scene I thought of the words of Hilton Brown, imagining he was reading his poem on the far side for the first time.

......
Fife was a shadow across the Firth
When the Granton boat put out;
Over the sea and the solid earth
The mist lay all about;
But a rousing wind from the Isle of May
On the ruffled waters strode
And blew us a clear October day
To ride on the Highland Road......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.