Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Out In The Cold, Again

As if I didn't get cold enough yesterday, I asked my mate to take me to Tewit Tarn. I had been hoping for a while that we would get another snowfall and this was where I wanted to go if we did.

So, off we set, then we realised I hadn't packed the map. Back to The Mother's where I had left the house keys then back to my house for the map. Not that the tarn is difficult to find, just that I'd never been there before.

It was blowing a gale as we made our way up the hill. We both took a few shots and tried to find shelter while we had a cuppa and a pie but we were on the wrong side of the wall.

The forecast had said it would be sunny at 11 but at 10.30 was saw a wall of white filling the valley on it's way from Penrith. The horizontal snow hit us and we decided we had got cold enough and headed for the car.

We were on the A66 by 11am and,sure enough, the sun came out. Saddleback was bathed in light, its snowy topping gleamed and the sky above was blue!

I will have to go back sometime and do this again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.