Mom and Chick

I got up at the crack of 8 to head south for 40 miles to Venice, Florida. That's where the Venice rookery is. I pulled in at 9:05.

It seems as if the "pros" get there at 8 a.m., and are gone by 10. They figure that is the best lighting. Being an amateur...I stayed for 4 hours...leaving at 1:05. My back warned me to quit, and I refuse to divulge how many pictures I took. I'll just say scads.

I love and hate to visit this place. It really is magical with the sounds and the sights. But...I need a Big Daddy. I NEED MORE LENS! But...you live with what you got.

I put WAY too many pictures on my FLICKR PAGE. I couldn't believe it when I watched the ending of this encounter. I always thought when the baby heron was practically choking the mother...beak to beak.....that it was eating regurgitated food. Throw-up.

After 15-20 minutes of the baby pecking at Mom...she coughed up the whole fish!!! And...it wasn't a small fish. I also couldn't believe that baby could eat it...but...after adding a little tarter sauce...swallowed it whole.

I think I counted 8 different species on my Flickr page...9 if you count the photographers. If you get lens envy like I get...PLEASE DON'T LOOK! Let's just say they were sticking way out there in front...both the men and the women.

Always a fun morning. I'm debating whether to go up to Tampa tomorrow to watch the PGA (golf).

Cough it into large to see the eye of the baby.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.