Global Attitude

By GlobalAttitude

Ruhrtalbrücke

I've been wanting to blip this Autobahn bridge over the Ruhr valley for a long time, but have waited for the sky to be bright and the lighting to be right. Finally, driving home from work this afternoon, it was an ideal day to capture the expansive structure. (One of those very rare times where we are blessed with sunshine). So I pulled over and grabbed a few quick shots.

At over 1.8 km, it is the longest steel bridge in Germany. I know this only because this bridge was the topic of the first research presentation (ein Referat) my youngest son was required to do for school when we arrived here less than 2 years ago. His language skills were still quite rusty so he practiced over and over reciting for me all the facts he memorized about the span. There are 18 supporting pillars holding it up to 65 meters above the river. It was built from 1963-1966. An average of 80,000 vehicles cross it every day.

And this coming summer the entire bridge will be closed completely for 3 months while it undergoes extensive renovation. I do not want to imagine the traffic in my neighborhood when those 80,000 cars and trucks come through the local detour :(

On a side note, the poor boy who taught me all this wonderfully useful information awoke today at 3 am with a very sick tummy and kept me up to nurse him by the porcelain throne until I had to leave for work and hubby took over nurse duty. Now I don't think he's going to be able to represent his school in the city swimming championship tomorrow - a shame, he's been training hard and was so proud to be selected.

And another note, as evidence that great minds think alike, today my dear friend kettwigefrau happened to blip the same structure! Pure ironic chance. I do love the reflections she caught in the water. Her photography is always brilliant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.