Despicable

After what seemed like the longest day imaginable at work, I met up with my friend Keri for drinks, chat and a movie.

No we didn't go and see Despicable Me 2; it's not out yet. We did however, go slightly crazy after seeing Oz the Great and Powerful. I'd heard some good reviews and some bad ones so i decided to see for myself. Sadly, the most interesting thing about the film was the rating - it said 'PG - mild fantasy threat'. What exactly that meant, we weren't sure!

The film was ridiculous, with insane overacting and plenty of cringe moments. I laughed out loud at the absurdity at one point. But the strange thing is, I think this was exactly what they were aiming for when they made it. It was supposed to be ridiculous, it was supposed to be over-exaggerated. It was supposed to be for little children to fill them with awe for the land of Oz. Children need over-exaggeration sometimes.

It wasn't really for the older audience who wanted to recapture the wonder of The Wizard of Oz or (my generation) Return to Oz. Instead we'll have to be content to remember the wonder we felt when we first went to Oz and hope the kids felt the same this time round!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.