Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hello, you beauty!

Imagine my delight when I glanced out the window and saw this beauty perched on one of our cherry trees! This is an Eastern bluebird (Sialia sialis), a common bird in our part of the country, but not one I see in our yard because they aren't seed eaters. There was a pair checking out the newest bluebird nest box in our yard - they didn't stick around long, so not sure if the location wasn't to their liking or if they've got a list of rentals to see before signing a lease. Either way, what a total joy to see them.

This was taken handheld, through the window, while on the phone with my parents (it isn't uncommon that I see interesting birds while I am on the phone with them - I think they bring good juju!)

It was another day of gardening and puttering. I also made my first trip to the Valley View Farm down the road from us and had a nice visit with the manager. I came home with a small African Basil (a new herb for me), a violet, a basket of pansies and a beautiful ranunculus that looks like fire and sunshine!. Hubs and I worked on the "great rock ledge" project, loading in about a half-yard of dirt (that's a lot of dirt!)

I found a shield bug on the daffodils, several fairly cooperative (and small) spiders in the garden and even saw my first bumble bee of the season come drifting by (alas, too quick for the camera). I can't even begin to tell you how happy I am that we are finally having some springlike weather ... in fact the cardinal and one of the doves were discussing it at the water cooler.

As I type this, there is a beautiful cardinal sitting on the branch about a foot from my window ... spring is in the air!

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.