Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Spring isn't all that is in the air...

If I am not mistaken, this gal is knocked up pregnant! You can see her full belly a bit better here. This was taken along a trail I've only recently discovered. It runs along a lake on one side and some marshy land (seen here) on the other - very nice trail! There were blackbirds in the marshes, singing from the reeds. The females aren't here yet, so the males are just kind of getting ready - the full displays won't start until the ladies hit town. I saw a mallard pair back in the reeds and some painted turtles enjoying the sunshine.

And apparently I got a little too close to a nesting pair of Canada Geese because, boy, did I catch hell from one of them! There was a big, loud, impressive display, including much flapping of wings. Glad I wasn't any closer.

I toted the D600, Big Daddy and my monopod on the walk - jeez, I must be nuts! However, I wouldn't have gotten any of today's shots without the long lens, so I guess it was worth it.

There were more bees this morning, including an itty, bitty little thing, about a half inch in length. I am guessing it is some sort of bee, but no idea what kind.

Spoke briefly to the horse woman and she's going to call me back to give me more info. Apparently she just hired a trainer for the horses so she said she wanted to get her on board so she (the trainer) can help with the horses when I photograph them. Intriguing...

Thank you so much for the hearts, stars and comments on my fuzzy little carpenter yesterday! You sent him buzzing onto the Spotlight page for a little while which made us both smile (well, maybe not the bee... hard to tell with bees). Our glorious warm weather is about to come to a screeching halt - tomorrow's high will be only about 52 F. So probably no more bees until it warms up again.

xxo0
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.