Merrick...on the Blocks

My daughter (Merrick's mother) had a dentist appointment this morning. So I went over to watch the little man for a couple of hours.

We worked the Legos for a while, then I got the wooden blocks out. Merrick is still at that stage where he would rather knock down and scatter...instead of actually building anything. He ruined a couple of my blockbuster creations. The slogan on his shirt...BOYS WILL BE BOYS is an understatement. Plus...he won't take off the boots that Grandma bought for him.


We then ran some "races" through the living room, the dining room, the kitchen, and around the kitchen island. Round, and round, and round. I tried not to...but I kept thinking about the scene from The Godfather...where Don Corleone was chasing his grandson. All that was missing was the orange in my mouth.

After watching the baby...I went to my first softball practice...meeting the rest of the guys. I wish I could say that it went well. After being a pretty fair player when I was younger...now...everything feels foreign. I can't hit...I can't throw...and I can't field. But...putting aside those 3 things...I'm doing pretty good.

Watching the coverage from the Boston Marathon bombings on the news. Being an old marathon runner...it's everybody's dream to run the Boston and New York marathons. I was close...but just a little too slow to qualify for Boston.

It's sad when it's Patriots Day in Boston, and there are 27,000 runners running...along with hundreds of thousands of people watching...that we have to worry about anything but running and cheering others on. I'm afraid it is going to change the thinking for a lot of our big sporting events.

The world...is a scary place...and we all wish it wasn't. Sending up a prayer for the injured, and for the families of the deceased. Sad and depressing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.