The second half of life..

By twigs

Mixed emotions

It's been a day full of emotions, a testing day in some ways, an affirming day in others.

It began with me taking my car to town to a valet service to clean and dry out after the weather-bomb event 2 days ago. The lovely man at the valet place very kindly drove me back home after drop-off despite him having plenty of work to do :)

Completed a small work task when I got home then readied myself for what, I knew, would tough.

Funerals are never easy and when it's for someone of the same age - which isn't that old - it serves as a reminder that we are only temporary guests here on earth. It also serves to remind me that every day is precious. P leaves a lovely wife and 2 beautiful young daughters and I was so impressed by the strength they all showed today. It seems so unfair - so wrong - that a good, healthy, clean-living, positive, warm, friendly man should be taken from his family so early.

The drive home after the funeral brought home the specialness of the day . . . . . sun shining, warm, free, green and spacious, the things I treasure.

I pottered a little in the afternoon - a little gardening, a little tidying, a little talking, a little nothing. It was when I was doing a little shopping that I got the phone call from the valet man to say my car was all dry and shampood and ready to collect. Remembering that he'd dropped me home after drop-off this morning he said he could bring it home for me if I could run him back to town afterwards. My pleasure.

And in between these stories is a story of a pregnant mantis-eating pregnant mantis but it just doens' t feel right to tell that story right now. Maybe another day.

Bed now.

G'night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.