AT FIRST I DID NOT NOTICE THE GREBE BABIES

I cycled to where I yesterday had seen the white geese flying towards me.
They were eating in the meadow and did not thuink for one moment to stop their activity. So I turned around and saw a swan pair swimming in the canal and also a grebe. Better try the grebe I thought, then came the mate of the grebe swimming towards her with a little fish. I thought how sweet is that! Looking at my pictures later I discovered that I had not seen at the moment, that the fish was for the babies.
The grebe that did not carry the little ones swam away and did not return for a rather long time. Fishing somewhere far away obviously. The grebe with the babies cried now and then, but most of the time she bobbed on the little waves. There blew a strong wind. I stayed there expecting the other grebe to return and yes there he was carrying a fish. When he came near the little ones were fed and suddenly they all swam in the water. Changing warm places the grebe parents did.
And off she went free to go fishing herself.
In the morning Mischa and I went to the check up in the hospital. It stayed a bit of a mystery however what exactly was her ailment.

My yesterday fly I would like to name a dance-fly and specific an empis-livida. I compared my picture with a picture of this fly at the site of A nature's observer scrapbook. I believe hundreds of flies exist (I did not count but I was bewilded or dazed by all the pictures at first.

My haiku:

In this cold weather
The warm feathers of parents
Keep the babies alive

And the proverb, pessimistic perhaps by Masefield:

Life is a long headache in a noisy street.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.