Making

The possibilities are endless.   At pottery this evening I watched for a few minutes as one of the longstanding members was creating one of what might be considered his signature pieces.  The seagull design, from a printed image, first pricked out into clay slab then the clay is cut and formed, eventually supported on pieces of wood so that it dries in 3D form.  Little more than an hour's work.   I also started something new, rolling a slab which I draped over an upturned bowl former.  Initially it reminded me of a fancy hat but I cut out sections and eventually moulded it into shape, not before being tempted to play when the final fold appeared as a nose!   Maybe one day I'll return to the idea, could it be an elephant, an anteater, an armadillo or ..... ?   The upturned bowl shape is now wrapped in plastic awaiting the next stage in my plan.

Earlier, assorted chores at home and a box of children's toys from long ago unpacked and sorted through.   Much charity shop material, some past use, a few bits to keep for now.  Then a trip to Aberystwyth to collect my new glasses and assorted useful shopping.  Chris came along and stopped at mine for tea after.  Slow cookers are a great idea!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.