Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Look, Ma!! I can run!!

After hubs finished his duathalon this morning, we decided to take a walk on the Hyuper Humus trail. We were barely 5 minutes into the walk when Hubs said "look, there's a deer on the trail ahead" and then about 5 seconds later we realized she had a freshly-minted fawn with her! The fawn was so utterly adorable, but mom was quite cautious and in fairly short order, she ushered the young 'un off the trail. This was taken fully zoomed, hand held and cropped like crazy - it's not totally sharp, but I loved that the fawn was running and mom was sticking her tongue out. Definitely a Little Moment!

If I hadn't gotten a decent shot of the mom and fawn, I was going to give you A pair of green darner dragonflies doing the Wild Thing! Normally a shot that would have earned a blip spot without another thought. However, I think I may be able to catch some dragons in flagrante dilecto again, whereas I am not sure I'm going to see a fawn again.

We also saw several great blue herons, a beautiful male Balrimore Oriole and quite a few Yellow Warblers. None of which I managed to get an even moderately good shot of!

Finally the weather today was perfect! Lots of butterflies, dragons and damsels out. It's supposed to be warm (to hot) all week so I may try my hand at some more dragons sometimes during the week. I'm soooo glad our winter is over!!! It's nice to have so many things to photograph now.

Today is our Memorial Day here in the States. Wikipedia defines it rather nicely...

Memorial Day is a day of remembering the men and women who died while serving in the United States Armed Forces. Formerly known as Decoration Day, it originated after the American Civil War to commemorate the Union and Confederate soldiers who died in the Civil War. By the 20th century, Memorial Day had been extended to honor all Americans who have died while in the military service. It typically marks the start of the summer vacation season, while Labor Day marks its end.

It is also a day where many Americans get out their grills and do something traditional like burgers and hot dogs. We aren't much on hot dogs, but we may put some nice juicy burgers on the grill later.

Thank you very much for the comments, stars and hearts on my bee yesterday. And I have to confess that I took it with my little Nikon Coolpix camera, not my hefty D600 or even the trusty D90. Honestly, I've never had any lucky capturing birds in flight with the Coolpix so I was quite surprised that I managed to get 3 in flight bees with it. I think maybe because I had the lens only a few inches from the bee and was literally following it with the lens? Well, whatever the case, thank you all very much!

Happy Memorial Day (or Happy Monday)!

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.