Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

My first Cedar Waxwing of the year!

I knew it would be a good day when the first thing I saw when I came downstairs was a hummingbird on the window feeder. Not letting the forecast of rain deter me, I grabbed two cameras and went over the walk the same trail hubs and I walked yesterday. I figured I could get a few miles in before the rain started. In an hour and a half, I met only one other person on the trail, another photographer who told me that a flock of waxwings was a bit further up the trail. The waxwings have been conspicuously absent this winter in our area so I was anxious to see them. And they didn't disappoint - this one posed nicely for me, as did another who was toting around some nesting material. This is probably the best shots I've ever gotten of waxwings as usually they are higher up in the trees and hard to catch. So, I'm a happy camper!

Just as I was heading back, it started to sprinkle so I picked up the pace. Luckily I'd tucked a plastic bag in my pouch so I was able to cover the cameras. The other picks today are on Flickr, or you can click the individual links below...

The bottom side of a Yellow Warbler (they are eluding me this year!)
A very cooperative song sparrow
An uncooperative Great Blue Heron
A mewing Gray Catbird
And, a bunny!!

Back home to get some work done. It is pouring rain now, and the feeders are doing a landslide business. And apparently, all the good will amongst the finches caused the House Wrens to become irate because when I looked out a while ago, the wren was chasing the finches away from the feeder. Which is particularly crazy since wrens don't even eat bird seed! I am pretty sure I have two male wrens here this summer, so I think tensions are running high. The little guy probably just lost control.

Thank you so very much for sending my deer to the Spotlight. It is always so nice when the shot that I like the best also turns out to be one that you like, too. So, thank you.

Tonight's dinner is Asian inspired salmon-burgers ...

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.