Dreich Sydney

Well for all that the colours of Vivid were certainly exactly that last night, it did rain pretty much the whole time we were out and about with the fellow blippers. We got back to our hotel thoroughly soaked and had to spread clothing strategically all over the room to dry.

As it turned out, that was pretty pointless. Within 5 minutes of leaving our hotel today we were both modelling the 'drowned dog' look - and the day never improved.

I really don't know why we decided this morning that it would be a good idea to walk across the botanical gardens into the city. This is the sight that greeted us when we topped a rise in the park. The only thing wetter and sadder than this was us!

Got back into Christchurch at 10 to midnight after a really bumpy flight across. The two young ladies sharing my row with me were badly affected - one having an anxiety attack and the other barfing. Although I wanted to just bury my head in my book and ignore them, I did the good Samaritan thing and helped out where I could, doing my best to talk them through it.

LESSON TODAY: If you are going to fly international for less than 48 hours you are likely to regarded suspiciously. After joking with Teacherlady that I'd probably be searched because they would wonder why I had been away for such a short time, I got swabbed for traces of explosives at one end and questioned about drugs at the other! Even middle aged ladies aren't exempt apparently.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.