AT NINE O'CLOCK IN THE MORNING

Mischa rang our doorbell. We had arranged to go together to the heempark, but when we came there a big sign indicated that it was closed this Saturday.
A kind of disappointment it was. But in the end it turned out that we were needed somewhere else.
We cycled through the Madestein and Uithof park. Walked the footpath along the canal where the Hooglanders dwell. At the maze where we would like to take at a later stadium pictures we investigated the several possibilities, got lost in the maze and found each other again.
In the pond nearby I heard the fogs making loud sounds, so I walked down (the maze is on a slope) and there on the path a dead baby magpie.
I turned to look for Mischa but then I saw she still breathed and opened an eye.
The frogs cried loudly and I saw a dragon fly flatter.
Mischa joined me and we phoned the Animal Rescue. They promised to come and fetch the poor bird. They ascertained that her wings were unharmed.
We walked back to the place where we had found the magpie, where our bikes were and look there the dragonfly still dwelled.
One moment she sat and I could take three pics before she disappeared.
We made a little detour to see the stork high up in her nest with two babies.
There was a strong wind blowing but the weather was still agreeable.

My haiku:

When one door is closed
The gate to the adventure
Is elsewhere opened

And the proverb:

Men moet de benen uitsteken, naar de lakens lang zijn.

Translation:

One has to stretch the legs to the length of the sheets.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.