carliewired

By carliewired

80 F / 27 C

We have a cloudy 
day with a chance of some rain
for this afternoon

~carliewired

We woke to the sound of a helicopter overhead just before 8 AM. My house is between the Marine Corps Air Station and the Yuma Proving Grounds so I expect the military were beginning their work day here. 

After coffee and a leisurely breakfast I took my brother out for a short tour of my bigger neighbourhood. 

I drove to my mesquite tree on the wash to be sure it was still standing. I have drawn and painted this old, gnarly mesquite more times than I can remember. I am always encouraged to see it has persisted yet another year. 

I drove the county road that separates the desert from the housing. I pointed out the rallying point for my painting friends and where we find our routes out onto the desert to paint. The Gila Mountains are looking rather bleak on this unusually cloudy day. 

I made a brief stop beside the Foothills golf course taking note of the crispy edges it seems to have. There still were a lot of golfers out making the most of the course today. 

My last stop was to demonstrate to my brother how people like to decorate their yards and homes with metal sculpture. This particular house likes their U.F.O. theme.

We're destined for napping this afternoon......we'll make hamburgers for dinner. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.