There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

A Portal Is Opening on the Pond

My husband and I drove over to the nearby former Dry Hollow property to get some exercise. He was there to jog, and I was there to walk, with camera. We were relieved to discover upon arrival that the road was open and clear of snow so we could pull the car in. I encountered plenty of fun icy puddles on the walk in, but by the walk out, many of them were already thawed, and back to plain water.

There are many vernal ponds on this property, and here is a favorite one. Last year in early February, I fell along the far side; tripped over a stump. So I am more careful now. I watch my feet more. The ice made some neat patterns in the middle there, and you can see that there's a portal opening on the lower left. We've got water! Alert! We've got water!

You know what THAT means. That portal is going to get bigger, and guess what: FROGS are going to come through it. LOTS of 'em! It's one of those MAGIC portals, I think. Get ready for frog-fest 2024!!!  (And people, this isn't my first portal rodeo; so I say this: guard your purple gloves* jealously!)

Our soundtrack song is Pete Townshend, with Let My Love Open the Door.

*We recall fondly and with no small amount of wistfulness the purple glove that got sucked into the portal at the door by the tree by the railroad track.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.