There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Railroad Tracks / Stealing the Blues

My husband and I spent about an hour and a half at Soaring Eagle Wetland, down along Bald Eagle Creek. The clouds were amazing, and the water was running high, as the sun came and went.

The wetland isn't far from the place where I found the door by the tree by the railroad track, and so we had the following conversation, which might, in fact, spawn a good idea for a science fiction story:

Me: *wistful* Sometimes I think of going back and looking for my purple glove at the door by the tree by the railroad track.
Husband: FORGET about that glove. It's in an alternative Universe. Somewhere in that Universe, a strange creature is wearing your glove on an odd appendage.
(Much later) Husband: And it is a Universe without any purple in it. Until the glove arrived. Now, every night, all of the other creatures plot to steal the purple glove from the one who is wearing it. . . .

Now, this is the part where you might expect to hear that I went in search of that purple glove again. But truth be told, I know I will never see it again, and I sort of like the thought of some multi-appendage-having creature wearing it better than me, in some other world. (Just another page, I guess, for the Book of Lost Things.)

So we walked along the creek and then at the end, I stood on the railroad tracks and took some photos under the open sky. Above is my best shot of the railroad tracks. You can see the clouds passing me by.

Down along the creek, the show of light on water was extraordinary, as it always is there. As I stood near the accessible fishing pier, and looked at the water on what is sort of a spillway there, over the rocks, I noticed that the water was stealing the blues from the sky above me. So that shot - one of my water abstracts - is in the extras!

I have two favorite songs for these two images. First, for my railroad, I've got Josh Turner, with Long Black Train. Second, for my shot of the water stealing the blues from the sky, I've got Martina McBride, with a song that I love to sing along with at top volume while driving the car: When God-Fearin' Women Get the Blues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.