There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Dreamscape with Magic Portal by the RR Tracks

Conjuring thoughts of time and memory, and a door to who knows where. . . .

Sometime early in 2023, we were driving on old route 220 heading for somewhere; who can even remember where? Maybe Bald Eagle State Park. But I looked out the car window and I think I may have shouted out loud! There was a DOOR standing by a tree along the railroad tracks!

It reminded me somehow of a Dali painting, but without the melting timepieces. Of course, I marked the site in my mind, and decided I'd come back for some pictures. But as time passed, the door fell, and it ended up lying over by the railroad tracks. I sort of gave up on it. We were always in a hurry; no time to stop.

But late on this morning, we were taking one of the cars for a spin to get hoagies and gasoline and a walk along Bald Eagle Creek before a possible snow event. My husband asked, as we headed up old 220, Did I want to stop for pictures of the door by the railroad tracks? WOULD I?!!!

Well, I had a pair of purple gloves in the car with me, and I knew I'd need them. The door was on the ground, and I would need to go over, lift it into position, and then get some photos of how it originally appeared. So out I hopped! Put on my gloves. Hossed that door into position (mind that the window up top is full of BROKEN GLASS). And voila!

I was clicking away on the camera like a woman possessed. And so of course, my memory card took this inopportune time to finish up. I got about two dozen shots before it gave me the warning: insufficient space on card. Oh my!  Why now!!???

I usually put a new memory card in my camera bag once the old one starts getting low, and I'd thought to cut the packaging so I could just whip it out when I needed it. So I stood by the tracks, took off my gloves, changed memory cards, shot another couple of shots.

My husband had parked the car, still running, in a tiny parking lot by the road. I heard his voice shouting it was time to go. So I wrapped it up, shot another shot or two, and ran back to the car.

Well, as we were driving away, I put my hand in my pocket and only came out with one purple glove. Guess where I left the other one! By the door by the tree by the railroad tracks! 

So one of the sad truths of today is that I lost one of my favorite purple gloves. Was it a sacrifice demanded by the portal? Will it get hit by a railroad train? Will I ever see it again? It definitely gives me an excuse to go back, I'll tell you THAT!

So my question for you, dear viewer, is what to make of it all. What does the door mean? How did it get here? Where does it go? YOU tell ME. I think it's a magic portal, and I've already paid the price of admission. Let's see what sort of adventure I have the next time I go back!

My soundtrack song for this dreamscape with magic portal is the Doors, with Break on Through (To the Other Side).

P.S. If you look down and see a single purple glove on the ground, know that I was there before you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.