There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Pretty Little New Year's Snow / Clash of Seasons

We awoke to a wintry wonderland, blanketed by snow we had received overnight. It was such a tiny little snow that I knew it wouldn't last. So I got up, made the bed quickly, did a couple of necessary things, and ran out the door with my camera into the snow.

I'm glad I did because it disappeared pretty quickly. Here are two of my favorite photos from the pretty little New Year's Day snow. Above is a shot looking back down Tow Hill. In the extras is a shot of the snow on what's left of the autumn leaves, a clash of seasons.

Since the snow arrived overnight, I thought I'd pick a favorite song from the soundtrack to the 1985 film White Nights, which I saw at the theatre at least once, maybe twice, when it came out. I searched my digital collection and only realized later that I own the ALBUM. So it was that I ended up buying the digital version on Amazon! Isn't life just a process of purchasing your favorite music, over and over, on every new medium?

I've got two images, so here are two songs. First is Phil Collins and Marilyn Martin, with Separate Lives, from the film White Nights. Did you know that Stevie Nicks sings backup on this tune? Her voice doesn't stand out to me like it does on some of the other lesser known Stevie Nicks backup jobs; btw, she is an absolute PRO as a harmony singer. I'm also tossing in big dance number from the film so you can watch Mikhail and Gregory hoof it!

At 8 p.m., we tuned in to watch the first half-hour of the 2023 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame ceremony on TV. Sheryl Crow was being inducted, and Stevie Nicks sang harmony with her. A treat indeed! So my second song is Strong Enough. Here's the most recent version (with Peter Frampton on guitar for the second tune, and yes, he absolutely SLAYS it!). Here's another favorite version from a few years back, featuring a younger Stevie and a younger Sheryl. Enjoy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.