Squirrel in Motion!

I went for my walk on New Year's Day morning. The days have been milder of late, and all of our snow is melting. The squirrels were having a very busy time, and I saw them everywhere, chasing each other, eating snacks, fluffing up their tails, climbing trees. I guess this means we'll have a squirrelly new year. Or at least *I* did!

In other news, New Year's Day is typically the day when I copy over my main photo library from my Mac computer to at least two other locations on different devices, delete the original one off my computer, and start a NEW photo library for the new year. So I did that, and it took a while to organize it all, but now I'm set, and I've got a fresh new photo library to begin the year 2023.

I have learned some hard lessons, and the ones I remember best are the ones that hurt the most. Keeping my photo library organized and backed up is one of those things. I was a digital hoarder who experienced a catastrophic crash of my big (more than 2 TB) photo library in November of 2020 just after my cat Dexter died.

You could say I was going through a rough patch. I recovered most of my original master photos (although making them into a new database or a series of databases so I could access them easily never actually worked out for me, as I spent a year on that project with very little to show for it), but not the cat.

Anyway, this is all the long way about of saying . . . in the new year, things can get squirrelly pretty fast. Keep your wits about you, stay in motion, and do the best you can. I don't make New Year's resolutions anymore, but I aspire to do better as I learn better. I am trying!

The soundtrack song for this image is John Parr, with Man in Motion, the theme from the film St. Elmo's Fire.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.