There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Frozen Bubble Extravaganza / The Jeweled Stag

With temps around 26 degrees F on this morning, I went out for frozen bubble time just before 9 a.m.; I was out for about a half-hour. I took the jeweled stag and two little floofy seeds and a metal funny shaped thing and some Christmas balls in a plastic sleeve and a little figure of a pig holding a birthday cake. 

I had bought new corn syrup at the store, so I was ready, and I dumped out the old stinky bubble mix, and made up a new bubble mix. Which needs to be tweaked, as it wasn't all I'd hoped it would be. The bubble mix is usually about a 4:1 ratio of dish detergent to water, plus a dash of corn syrup. I like to use at least TWO different dish detergents and I try to mix it to get the colors I like.

Well, the floof was AMAZING, and the stag did GREAT! Other implements had some measure of success, except for the pig, which ended up looking like that scary pig-mask creature out of some dark haunted corner from the film The Shining. So ix-nay on the ig-pay! Otherwise, pretty good.

And I learned a thing about museum putty: Once it gets wet with dish detergent, doesn't hold ANYTHING anymore. That's what I used to attach the seed/floof to the jeweled stag's head. Above is a shot through the bubble looking down onto the stag. In the extras is a picture of the stag and bubble from the side, with the museum putty clearly visible. This was before the putty pooped out on me!

In other news, my husband and I were out and about in the afternoon. We started in the gamelands with some exercise, went to Port Matilda for sandwiches, and then on an impulse, visited the door by the tree by the railroad tracks

We stopped for just a few minutes to look for my lost purple glove, and it should have been really obvious, being the color it is. But it is gone, gone, gone. I think it took the train, so I am Team Train. My husband is a member of Team Portal; he thinks the DOOR took it. My only question is Where did it go? WHERE!?

I've got two shots so here are two songs. You're probably expecting something about bubbles, or stags, or railroad tracks and portals to unknown Universes. But when I learned the news that actor/singer David Soul died overnight, I decided to pick two of his songs to remember him by.

First is Don't Give Up on Us, which is a love song. Second is The Wall, whose lyrics appear below. Yes, we watched Starsky and Hutch (American TV show, on air 1975-1979) religiously at our house. YES, at the tender age of 10, I was smitten with him. Go well, sir.

He had nothing to give. 
So from a wall he lived behind, 
he found the bricks that were the greenest with moss 
and cut them out with a mason's bit, 
and gave the most beautiful to his friends. 
A green-sided brick for each friend. . . . 
and his wall was gone.

Bonus: link to my canonical list of frozen bubble making tips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.