There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Upside Down Christmas Tree / Lunch for Two

We'd spent all day Wednesday running errands in town. We made TWELVE different stops. It was amazing. When we got home that day, I checked the computer and noted that I'd received an email from Ocean State Job Lot on Benner Pike, informing us that the new bicycle we'd ordered for my husband was in; could we come pick it up?

I guess it's good they waited to send it until we were on our way; there was no way we would have fit the bike in the backseat with all the other stuff we bought. So it was that Thursday found us heading back into town. We would pick up the bike, do a little shopping, and have a nice lunch out.

Around 1 p.m., we arrived at Ocean State. I showed them my receipt with the bar code on it. The bike purchase was part of what they call a Crazy Deal: you buy the bike, and they give you a gift card for the total amount of the cost of the bike (yes, several hundred bucks!) to spend in their store. Two guys carried a big box to the front of the store. We checked out, carried that big box to the car.

Well, that is where the fun began. Let me tell you this, and you do the math: if you purchase a box that is 58 inches long, will it FIT into a car backseat that is 58 inches wide? (Let me help you out here: the answer is a flat NO, due primarily to protruding arm rests.) I half expected that lady from the Allstate commercial to drive by and helpfully inform us: "That's Not Gonna Fit." But she didn't show.

Fortunately, this wasn't our first rodeo. My husband had brought a large knife along, which he used to cut the box. And cut the box. And cut the box. It took about a half-hour (and a bit of accidental blood) to get the box cut down enough that it finally fit. SLAM! That was the first door. SLAM! That was the sound of the second door closing. NOW, DON'T OPEN IT TILL WE GET HOME!!!

And then we walked over to Olde New York and had a really lovely lunch. And after that, we walked back to Ocean State and started spending my huge, wonderful gift card on fun stuff! HOORAY!! But let me tell you about lunch.

Our favorite menu option there is the Iron City salad, which is "mixed greens with an assortment of vegetables, fries, and cheddar cheese, with your choice of dressing." I am also quite fond of the Swabian onion bowl, which is "a crock of savory onion soup baked with seasoned croutons and Swiss cheese." 

Anyway, you may see our lunch for two in the extras. Aren't those golden fries on top just glorious? I am sorry I have to report a crime, though: my husband STOLE one from me! God help me, I married a FRENCH FRY THIEF!

The things that caught my eye, though, were the two gorgeous Christmas trees that they still have up. Which I appreciate, as I can't handle it when all of Christmas goes back into a box so quickly. Why is everybody in such a freaking RUSH? Huh? Why?

In fact, one of the first rules I made - as an act of rebellion - when I bought a house of my own was about Christmas, because as a child, I thought Christmas was the very best time of year and I never got enough of it. New house, new rule: we get to have Christmas here ALL YEAR LONG. Yes, I have two small trees with lights up 365 days a year; and at Christmas, I add a BIG one. That typically stays up through the Super Bowl, and sometimes even longer. But I digress.

Anyway, the Christmas tree in the main dining room at Olde New York was huge and gorgeous. And when I hit the ladies' room later, I took my camera along and photographed that tree. But the real marvel was the tree in the bar, which was hung from the rafters, upside-down! I am not sure I've ever seen one of those before, so here it is as my main photo. (With a stuffed bear and some other gifts and toys around it, to boot.)

My soundtrack song for the image above is Diana Ross, with Upside Down. My song for the photo in the extras of the salad with those glorious crispy fries on top is John Stewart featuring Stevie Nicks, with Gold.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.