LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

Deeply Depressing

As I trudged along in the rain with a cold east wind searing my face and my glasses covered in rain drops, I did wonder why on earth I thought I should go for a walk. 
Well,  it only started raining when I left the house and  I was committed to the idea of a walk but the only phrase that kept repeating in my brain like a brain worm was ‘deeply depressing’.  I was cold and wet as I seem to have been for most the last 5 months and there seems no end to this winter. We have had few days of sunshine which would have cheered everyone up. Instead we have had day of sunshine and a week of gloom to follow. Today my phone told me, as if I didn’t know, that it felt like 0°.

My letter box flowers which were sent on Mothering Sunday are still looking fresh two and a half weeks later but my daffs and tulips are no more. The daffodils are out in force on the meadows while someone has planted bulbs in the remains of tree trunks. As I passed, I thought how fresh and springlike this willow tree looked against a backdrop of despair. 

Home in the relative warmth of the Dower House, I am enjoying ’A Gentleman in Moscow’ which is our Book Group read and looked very daunting before I started reading it but turns out to be clever and very entertaining.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.