Global Attitude

By GlobalAttitude

HABI Potter

This evening was the Zeugnisvergabe und Abiball (graduation and prom night) for the students of the school where I teach part-time. Their "Abi" theme was Harry Potter, hence HABI Potter. I'm not a member of the faculty, but am hired through a non-profit foundation that supports international education to provide advanced lessons, enrichment, and tutoring in English. As such, I wouldn't ordinarily have gone to this evening's event.

However, one of the students I've worked with closely for the last two years as he pursued the very rigorous duel-degree program of an International Baccalaureate Diploma in conjunction with the German Abitur, really wanted me to attend and sit with his family. Initially, I declined, as it was a busy weekend and I wasn't sure I'd be comfortable there since I didn't even know his parents. But this week his mother called and pleaded for me to come as their guest, because my help had meant so much to Jonas, who was accepted into two prestigious English universities. She was very persuasive and so I agreed to go. On Friday afternoon she dropped by and brought me a ticket to the event and I invited her in for coffee. She was very kind and easy to talk with, so I actually had a really nice time joining her family this evening.

It was lovely to see this young man recognized for all of his hard work (he had the highest IB scores in his class and won several awards). He and his group of friends, several of whom I'd worked with as a tutor, were glad that I had come and I was very happy to watch them glory in their successes. They are an impressive and inspiring group of future leaders.

The graduation reminded me of a wonderful book by Dr. Seuss: Oh the Places You'll Go!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.