THE GOATS CAME RUNNING TOWARDS ME

but I had no leaf of salad with me!
I walked, still in the cold morning, to the garden that I had visited yesterday.
The gate stood open and there were two persons working. They were both clothed in striking orange coloured clothes, the ones the community workers wear.
One woman and a man, the woman operated the electric mowing machine and the man gave her instructions how to proceed. She still had to learn how to manage the
heavy machine.
I took pictures of the flowers and the tiny creatures. At some point the man walked near me, greeted me and I went up to him to ask what kind of garden this was.
A school garden perhaps?
Yes, it was a school garden and there was room for children, for children with parents and parents only. It looks so wonderfully kept I said.
Enjoy the garden, he said and repeated it several times afterwards.
Geniet er maar van, in dutch, geniet er maar van. And I did very much so,
In a way it reminded me of the time when we had a vegetable garden outside the village where we lived, long time ago. And how we had to abandon it after five or more years.
Next to the school garden is the Kakelhof, a city farm and when I came by the goats came running towards me.
At last I came upon the Nile geese family, I had brought oats for them.
Sitting in the grass I watched the sweet little babies. Then came a man with two little dogs, but look, the geese did not move away.
When the man was near he shouted to me: Now you will see something that you have never seen.
He did feed the geese and the dogs were so near, but since the man came four times along, as he explained to me, from the very beginning since the babies were born, they were not at all afraid. It was a wondrous sight.
One dog, 15 years old, was blind and the other did not look at the birds.

My haiku:

In summer I love
Seeing all the plentyness
Smelling all the scents

And the italian proverb:

Love is blind, but sees afar.

Early posting today because of the literary saloon evening in Pulchri, dedicated to the publishing of the 7th number of Extaze. I will help to get the auditorium ready.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.