Fin

It's always sad to leave but it's better to go and leave than never to go at all.

Rome is amazing and I haven't seen enough yet!

On Sunday I went over to the Vatican with Simon as I really wanted to get into the Basilica and get that iconic photo from the top. When we got there though it was thronging and so hot. Something was going on. It was just before 12 midday and the whole crowd were staring at a window.

I soon twigged what was going on and as I looked up there were cries of 'Papa!' as the Pope turned up!

Photo's here if you haven't seen yesterday's blip.

So after the blessing we headed over to the Colosseum to meet some friends. We walked much of it along the river before giving in to the heat and getting a taxi over.

Before heading in we had lunch and visited the Pantheon before walking back to the Colosseum. The air was electric and there was a storm brewing.
Photo's here. As we walked up the road with the structure in front, lightning struck. I tried but couldn't get the photo, despite many more forks.

For a while it looked like the storm was passing but then suddenly as we circled the huge structure, a great big wet plop landed by my foot. The another. And then it lashed like a huge bathtub of anger!

We went into the Colosseum and I took no more Photo's that day! It was too wet for my poor camera... The rain was torrential for an hour and then slowed, but it meant our sightseeing was over for the trip.

The Colosseum was impressive and iconic but I didn't feel the atmosphere. Don't know why... It just didn't feel like a place of horrors and triumphs. But I'm glad I went.

Back to the hotel to catch the last game of the Wimbledon Men's Final (Well done Andy :o) ), before heading out into the City in search of beautiful food.

And we found it! A restaurant called Life and it was amazing. We waited some time for a table but it was worth it. Mozzarella... I thought I knew mozzarella until I tasted this beautiful sphere of delight.

Wow.

I passed some to the others and they were amazed at how gorgeous it was. I can't describe it (how can mozzarella be amazing? It's light cheese?), and to try wouldn't do it justice. It came with Parma ham that was also incredible.

Fillet steak with black truffle. One of the best dishes I've ever had bar none.

The next day was an early start for our flight home.

I'm very lucky to work for a company that takes us away like this. We all work very hard and they do show their appreciation. Rome was beautiful but I feel like I only had a taste. A starter like that mozzarella ball. I want more of the main course and I will be going back!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.