IT WAS ONLY WHEN I STOOD IN DUBIO

that I saw this insect lying in the marigold flower.
Cricket or grasshopper that's the question for someone. My whole life I have had trouble to distinct between two opposite words. Netto and bruto in dutch, nett or gross in english, and several other combinations. Happily enough not right and left.
Memory aids are helpful if they are simple and easy to remember. The one of cricket and grasshopper evidently not. I know of course that in the Pinocchio story there appears a cricket. But the drawings are not that clear enough to decide what is essential for them. Dragonfly and damselfly much easier since a short time.
But I stray off. I had cycled to the educational garden, the gate was open.
And a mini universe opened before my eyes, again. The flowers at their best, the vegetables, less interesting for my purpose look mostly very healthy and the insects fly and descend and fly again.
The red cat who lives in the vicinity came near to be caressed.
Just when I became a bit tired and started to leave I saw the cricket in the marigold.
From the school garden I cycled to the Bosbesstraat where another garden could be found. I found out that it is a very big garden, closed in the weekends, but at other days open from 8.15 am. till 16 pm. Another paradise to explore.
On my way back home I saw at different places two swan families babies, that had grown already a lot. Don't forget the swans I said to myself. But for now I better
go home and have a coffee there.

My haiku:

Stretched in a flower
An orange coloured one please
My dreams would be bliss

And the proverb:

An empty bag cannot stand upright.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.