Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Dude! What's up?

Sometimes you just have to roll with things. I was uploading a really nice shot of a Tiger swallowtail in the sunflowers when I heard a tapping on the window. I looked over and there was a juvenile blue jay looking in at me - tap, tap, tap. What the ...?

Then, my boy Rocket, who was sleeping on his bed right next to the window, trying to ignore whatever was out there, roused himself to have a look. Quickly deducing that he was in no danger, he softly patted the glass with his paw while looking at the jay.

The jay looked back.

Rocket patted the window again, now even more interested.

The jay fluttered and begged.

Sensing an opportunity, Rocket got his face right up next to the glass, eye to eye with the blue devil.

At that point, I ended the exchange - but only after grabbing the nearest camera and taking a handful of shots.

My idea of blipping a butterfly flew out the window - how could I NOT blip this? I will laugh every time I look at this, knowing full well that Rocket is not-so-secretly afraid of birds.

It is hotter then hell out today - worst day yet this week. The temp is 94 F but with the humidity, the heat index is 105F. Freaking miserable. You can break a big sweat standing still in the shade. Don't ask how I know this. Suffice it to say, this will be a two-shower day.

A few other shots, taken in very short trips outside:

Hummie on a mission
Pondhawk in the heuchera
P-Hummie's offspring, living up to his rep
and another sunny side-up butterfly

Hubs is off to Watkins Glen, NY tonight for two days of racing. Temps should break tomorrow, which will make for better racing conditions. As for me, I'm staying home where it's quiet and air-conditioned.

Stay cool and Happy Weekend!

xxoo
Debbi and the gang

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.