Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

A giant in the garden

Giant Swallowtail - Papilio Cresphontes

Another blistering hot day, but one that was filled with butterflies, hummingbirds and clearwing moths. After sleeping TEN hours last night (can you say "fatigue"?) I took my tea out to the patio, under the umbrella, where I was immediately presented with my first Giant Swallowtail of the season. Yippee! These are our biggest swallowtails, even bigger than the Eastern Tiger. And, unlike the Tiger who will perch with wings spread, the Giant is a flutterer, never sitting still. Consequently, I took over 100 shots to get 3 with wings open like this. These butterflies were uncommon in this part of NJ up until last year when they made a comeback. At first glance, they are easily mistaken for a Tiger because their underwings are yellow with similar markings to the Tiger. But when you catch a glimpse of the back, you know you are dealing with something different.

Other butterflies/moths in the butterfly garden today: Eastern tiger swallowtails, great spangled fritillaries, American ladies, cabbage whites, Orange sulphur, snowberry and hummingbird clearwing moths and several unidentified skippers. As well as innumerable bees and wasps of various kinds. And darting around like crazed Kamikaze pilots, the hummers. The 95 F heat didn't slow any of them down one whit.

I posted 10 shots on Flickr, starting HERE and including more butterflies, clearwings, dragons, sunflowers, and a hummer.

Tomorrow is predicted to be the hottest day yet with Saturday being more of the same. Hoping for a drop into the 80's by Sunday. It's stinky hot.

Thank you for all the lovely comments on yesterday's blip - I wasn't expecting that, so it was doubly appreciated. I just wish I'd had a real camera with me - and a bigger dose of courage!

Dinner tonight is fresh veggie "ceviche" with some shrimp thrown in for fun. Cooks out there, if you interested, the recipe is HERE. I took a sample taste and it is really yummy!

TTFN
Debbi

PS: the "bonus" butterfly in the lower right corner is a Cabbage White

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.