Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Territorial Dispute!

Blue Dashers - Pachydiplax longipennis

What a day! I was, once again, hard pressed to pick a blip. But finally I chose this one because it is rare that I can get a dragon flying, or two of anything in one shot. This was taken during my second outing of the day at Kittatinny where the dragons are out in large numbers.

My morning excursion was to the gravel pit that I discovered with BikerBear/Anni and PhotoMatt when they were here earlier this month. Once again, it proved to be a fantastic spot for dragons. I even saw my first twelve-spotted skimmer there this morning.

Home to cool down and take on some fluids then back out again for an hour, before I called it quits and headed home to the cool of my air-conditioned home. It's still stinky hot and humid today although a few degrees cooler than the last few days. Tomorrow should be tolerable and I plan to get up early for a hike.

Hubs is having a blast at Watkins Glen - he did his practice and qualification sessions this morning and is racing in two races this afternoon. Good times!

Thanks for enjoying my silly shot of Rocket and the blue jay youngster yesterday. Glad I provided some chuckles!

I've posted 13 shots from today on Flicker, starting HERE. Included is a shot of my butterfly garden, since quite a few of you have asked about it. Hubs and I just added it last fall and I must say that it is exceeding all expectations this summer! Since the bee balm started blooming, there have been at least 8-10 clearwing moths in the garden, all day, every day - plus bees, butterflies, damsels and dragons. It's all I had hoped for!

Hope you're all having a great weekend!

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.