Real strawberry with bits!

Yes that was for me, and very good it was too!! I had zoomed into Bantry to get a few things from the market - olives, feta, pistachio nuts, just the kind of things you feel like eating in this weather, along with large cones of strawberry ice cream - with bits in. And served with a big smile from a pirate wench. It's pirate weekend in Bantry and there were quite a few dubious characters wandering around. Things will liven up even more tomorrow.

The hottest day of the year so far - two highly enjoyable swims have been taken - the first around 2pm when the tide was high, the water clear and shared not with jellyfish but pollock! Large, frisky fish were feeding at the water's edge when I arrived. They were long and slim with white tummies. I was just quietly reading my Dickens, sitting on a rock with my feet in the water, when I noticed a van had parked and a man was striding in my direction. Was I going to be evicted - you do have to climb through some wiring to get to this little beach. No, it was Joe - a very good friend of TJ, on his way to have a brisk walk around the headland, clear his head and check out a large stone he had his eye on for a table top. He also identified the pollock.
Second swim was taken at 5pm, low tide and a glide was necessary through the fronds of seaweed. Blissful though. Do you know what, I wouldn't mind another one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.