Shhhhh ....

.... this is my private beach; just me and a jellyfish (that purplish blob in the front - a different kind to the monster from the other day).

Oh dear, weather, holidays, retirement = far too much fun! We started off the day by heading down to Reenmore for a spot of kayaking. It was warm, sunny and very still. We haven't been kayaking for ages so it was blissful. I didn't take my camera for fear of getting it wet but wished I had for the views were amazing and the reflections extraordinary. We saw masses of jellyfish, big compass ones with mighty tentacles, flocks of little common jellyfish (the purply ones) and tiny transparent ones, just blobs of jelly. We went into drippy caves, into tiny coves and in all the crevices of the cliffs long slender necks poked out - cormorant nests. They were very indignant to see us and gawped and croaked, the adults furiously protecting the big fluffy brown chicks. No swimming here on account of the jellies, but afterwards I headed off to my beach and swam and read and swam again. The weather clouded over a bit but by the time I'd got home again and did a bit of half hearted pottering, the sun had come out and another swim was required! This beach this time and it was blissful - a couple of chapters of the Dickens' biography (still excellent - my god he worked hard) , a lengthy swim and a little sunbathe.
I have an A4 list of things I should be doing but nothing has been ticked off yet - ah well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.