Family Dog

By Family_Dog

Star Pupil

Well, for me anyway.

Here it is, ladees and gennelmen.... Living proof that time doesn't care that you want it to stand still long enough to catch your breath.

Part of me wants to stamp my feet and say 'NO! This is my baby, - back off!' but the other part of me is kind of glad that this moment is finally here. It was always coming - the first day of school is the first major signpost in your baby's life. It's the signpost that you think of in wonder when your baby is days old and say 'Just think! One day he'll be going to school!' and it's the signpost that we'll recall when he starts his first day at work.

And today is the day.

He woke up excited, he walked to school excited. He jumped and hiyaaaa-kicked his way to the school gates and took the whole walk in his stride. When he got to the gates he walked on in like he'd been going there for years, and when I left him sat in his special seat, he flashed a momentary look of concern but in an instant his grin was back and he shouted 'bye Mummy see you later on!'.

Pretty much exactly what you want when you take your kid to school for the first time.

This is his world now and I am going to enjoy watching him grow and learn so much that I couldn't even find a way to cry too much about it - his excitement and delight were catching.

And then I waved a final goodbye, closed the door and had a good old cry. That's my baby! Back off....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.