Serendipity .....

......... the caterpillar.

I think this is a Cinnabar Moth Caterpillar - poisonous to humans (but we don't generally eat caterpillars .... do we??)!!

Stripier & Hairier


I took a number of photos this morning but, as I was reviewing them to decide which to post, I heard on the TV that a film by Mike Slee is going to be showing at an IMAX in London next week (I think it's showing in Cumbria at the moment) - it's called Flight of the Butterflies (make sure you have the sound on) and it is (I think) magnificent and amazing. I thoroughly recommend it to anyone interested in butterflies and nature.

Mum and I saw it while we were at the Moody Gardens in Galveston, Texas earlier this year and, although this caterpillar is not a Monarch butterfly caterpillar, I think it links in really well.

(Serendipity:- a "happy accident" or "pleasant surprise"; a fortunate mistake. Specifically, the accident of finding something good or useful while not specifically searching for it - how could I not post this image when they were talking about this film on the TV at the same time).

Taken with a longer lens and then cropped and sharpened ....... but it came out pretty well in my opinion.




NIKON D5200 : f/5.3 : 1/2000" : 300mm : ISO 400

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.