Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

A little protein for the trip

Although you can't see it in this shot, the little hummer was after bugs here. A lot of people don't realize that small insects comprise a big part of the hummingbird's diet - hummie does not live on sugar alone!

The numbers of hummers is dwindling. I haven't seen the flash of a red gorget since last weekend, so I think the adult males are all gone. And today, the maximum number I saw at one time was just three. Sigh. By the time I get back from my trip, I expect that the only hummers I'll see are some migrants.

Lots of work today so not much time to get out. However, while having my tea this morning, I saw my first goldfinch fledgling - actually heard it's distinctive begging before I saw it. They are the last birds to nest in the summer, waiting until the thistle has formed seedheads. In addition to the little goldie, I also saw a cardinal fledgling being fed by Papa, while Mama looked on and did ... nothing. Funny. Beautiful Autumn Meadowhawk dragons all over right now, too. Seems like everywhere I looked, I would see one perched on a stem or flower. The Monarch cat in the garden is getting bigger and bigger - today it was intent on eating the milkweed seed pods - looking like it was frothing at the mouth!

Four shots posted on Flickr, starting HERE (cardinal baby being fed by dad, hummie, monarch cat, and dragon).

Tomorrow I have to get everything ready for the house sitter and then Friday morning it'll be Wheels Up. Hubs leaves tomorrow morning for Vegas and will meet me in Portland on Thursday.

Last year's blip - A hummie headfirst in the flowers

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.