DonnaWanna

By DonnaWanna

Indigo

When I was doing Fine Art at University many moons ago we were encouraged to try everything on offer.

One of the more unusual process's I experimented with was Indigo dying using the Japanese Shibori method. I thought this would be perfect for Horomaka's Rainbow Challenge.

The technique I have used here was pole wrapping where you wrap your cloth diagonally around a cylindrical object like a pole or pipe and tightly bind it with thread or wire, scrunch it down and then dip it into the dye.

The object of the method is to create dramatic diagonal lined patterns and although this tiny sample was all I could find today you can see the lines from the wrapping and authentic indigo dye was used. The experts make stunning pieces with intricate sweeping patterns, needless to say I never quite achieved that status :)

In other news dear Jake is slightly better than yesterday and definitely a bit more relaxed than he has been since all this started. When I got back home after dropping GingerNan at the airport he was happy to see me and wagged his tail, haven't seen that for a while!

I dropped the dose of cortisone tonight just slightly and so far so good he hasn't started shaking and groaning in pain thank goodness. If he sleeps all night I will be thinking he has turned the corner, fingers crossedxx!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.