Big Hill

By bighill

brillliant weather...

What a stunningly beautiful day it is out there. i spent sometime down by the pond, walking around it, gathering images for potential paintings (when things slow down in the mudroom!) and then sitting on the floating dock, feeling the bright sun wrap me in it's warmth....and i pondered how thankful i am for this life i have!

It is Canadian Thanksgiving weekend here.....which means that most families will be going crazy in the kitchen, cleaning the house for the family visit and then the chaos of getting it all to come together at the appointed time. i have mixed feelings about these gatherings! now don't get me wrong, i love family gatherings as much as the next person, the laughter and company of your kin, not to mention the amazing pile of food that is usually presented....but i have to say that i am thankful we are having a quiet dinner this evening, just Terry, Richard and me! of course the dogs will be pretty excited when they smell the turkey roasting away....Terry has been sick for the past week, and in the middle of the night i realised i might be getting what he has!!! i will not get sick!!! So, i've started the oil of oregano regime...uggg how i hate the taste and the smell, but it seems to work magic on a cold if you can get it before it takes hold!

I am doing my sums right now....counting all the things i have to be thankful for:

my beautiful daughters
my beloved Terry
my good friend Richard
my (mostly!) good health
my beautiful home on Cape Breton Island
the list goes on, but those are at the top so i'll end here!

Happy Thanksgiving to all that celebrate it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.