Quaker Burial Ground

We are in the south west overnight for an inter club orienteering event, The Compass Sport Cup, tomorrow. En route we broke the journey in Coalbrookdale near Telford so that Tony could stretch his legs and look round the Museum of Iron. Now I'm not a great one for museums and I knew I would have been tugging at his sleeve like a bored five year old within ten minutes. I was also not riveted (ha hah!) by the thought of looking at a lot of things made out of iron, no matter how proud I am of our industrial heritage, so I took off with my camera into the surrounding woodland. I found a sign to a Quaker Burial Ground and this is it. What a view they had from their resting place. I found several graves from the Darby family who were instrumental in the iron industry in this area. I then took a walk along the Heritage trail and came across the Greenwood Centre in the woodland where we returned for wholesome soup and crusty bread before resuming our journey. We are now relaxing in the Premier Inn before heading out for our dinner reservation at the Moody Cow pub! More blips from Coalbrookdale here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.