City Sprawl

The early night sky was too tempting for me to stay in and contemplate blipping a section of my carpet, and the moon was big and yellow and begging to be blipped.

So I headed out to the moor, tripod and other gubbins in bag.

This was my first photo - I discovered at the time that my 18-55 kit lens was stiff as a board, the focus ring had to be forced round and it was sheer luck that I got this even near to being in focus. I don't often use that lens but it does fill the gap between my wide angle and my zoom.

The moon then disappeared so I decided to try and get a photo of Leeds City, which is about 10 or 11 miles away. I swapped lenses. The city lights were particularly vibrant and the rising smoke in the background is coming from Ferrybridge Power Station (alternative view here from a previous blip). I didn't expect it to come out well at all but when I got home I was really pleased with the result (even if I do say so myself!)

I think this one's worth a look in large :o)

Thanks for the wishes and response to Migraine. Many of you know *exactly* how it feels!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.