Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Waxless

I forgot how much fun fall can be! There were about 100 Cedar Waxwings in the trees around our yard today - the air was alive with flashes of yellow and the thin, high whistle of their calls. And because that wasn't enough, there are still lots of yell0w-rumped warblers around, too, flitting around the garden and being adorable.

So, after getting almost zero a little work done I took my camera and sat out by the garden, all bundled up in a polar fleece and wooly scarf. And I was rewarded with having two young Cedar Waxwings land not even 10 feet from where Big Daddy and I were crouched sitting. Woohaw! I was able to fire off 25 or so shots before they flew back up to the trees. I liked this one because you can clearly see the yellow tip on it's tail, it's prickly face full of pin feathers, it's partial face mask and it's "waxless" wings. The waxwing won't get his/her "wax" tips until next year.

Not to be outdone, two yellow-rumps immediately flew up and started posing, too. Had to be the waxwing today, though. You can see five other shots from today starting here with a bee.

Thanks for sending yesterday's butter-butt (yell0w-rump) flying onto the spotlight page. All your comments and stars are most appreciated.

Hubs is off for few days. His sister is here for a visit, so they've gone to see the movie "Rush" this afternoon. I can't tolerate the noise level at the movies, so I am holding down the fort here at Chez Casa.

Happy Hump Day!

ciao,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.