Individuality

It's okay. It's empty.

I didn’t want to send my son off in a plain coffin. He was a young man who loved life and was loved by others – so I chose a white casket and invited his family and friends along to ‘decorate’ it. And what a fantastic job they did – pictures, paintings, poems, photos, sayings, heartfelt messages and even a few motorbikes. My brother-in-law found him a miniature of his new bike, my sister crocheted him a version of it, others put on photos of it and references to it.

While being on his bike is what contributed to his death, I refuse to take away the fact that it was also something he was really excited about.

The casket was great – and I want to thank each and every person who contributed to it’s glory.

(The “Glory” makes reference to the fact that he was my “Blaze of Glory” – Bon Jovi).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.