A NEVER ENDING STORY

it seems. The swan I thought thursday was the mum turns out to be the father. It had been the mother who was lost. And I had counted the two days really well and how did I find this out?
In the morning I had found the swan family a bit further away, they were still sleeping, but woke up when they saw me.
When I returned in the afternoon I saw the four young ones in a row standing near the road they had crossed just the moment before. At the other side of the road I saw Hetty who showed the other swans the way to safety.
She told me what had happened when I had been away. The mother had left the father and the little ones and had joined the big agressive male one.
And one young had strayed away but had luckily found her way back.
At this moment she wanted to direct the lost mother back to her children but the big male was nearby too.
Her theory was that the female had joined the big male in order to protect her children by distracting her new lover away from them.
Hetty's scheme did not work, she could guide the poor mother till a certain point, but look there came the big male around the corner and the mother went back to him.
I left them in the process. It seemed to me that the father of the young ones could protect them well enough. But who am I to tell?
My picture shows the big male sailing along the little canal searching the mother.

My haiku:

We would call it a
Soap, we humans, but the swans
Just act and follow nature

And the proverb:

H/zij roert daar een tedere snaar aan.

Translation: H/she touches a sensitive chord.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.