The Dancer

A rare serene moment at tonight's children's Christmas party at the little local theater.

Sometimes I wonder about this whole parenting thing. Is there a page or two missing from the manual? Where did I go wrong? ...well, after a severe sugar induced high, comes an even more severe low. (OK, I admit that part was in the manual...)

I just wish the other variable stuff could be better predicted... like getting her foot stepped on 3 times by equally hyperactive boys, or the last straw was the boy who burst her favorite red balloon in her face. I'm not sure what was worse - the act of the boy popping her balloon, the fright of it, or the actual pain?

Then, a laboured walk home with a stop at the toy store for some xmas presents for other children of our friends and family. I got CC to stop crying momentarily with the promise that she could pick out one present under the condition that it get wrapped and put under the Christmas tree. That lasted until she picked her Little Pony out and was making plans to open it as soon as we got home.

MAN, my head is still exploding! I got told off by my 4 year old in every manner at the means and knowledge of a 4 year old and then some. It was all I could do to keep a smile on my face at the store and for the rest of the walk home.

A bit of quality time in the quiet of her room with the lights down low and we are more or less back on track... she even helped me afterward to put the presents under the tree.

I am ready for a whiskey. Neat! 10 more days...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.