THE LADIES WERE NOT IMPRESSED

It was a beautiful Sunrise this morning and Piet Hein went to the beach to enjoy the magic light.
I started some hours later and then the weather had changed already. It was cold, the wind blew, but the sky stayed light if not bright.
First I went to the young swans in the pond, I saw only two. Then I cycled to the little pond where their father was with his new mate. The muscovy duck was there too, but they seemed to go on well now with each other.
Through Madestein and the Uithof (I waved to the Highlanders), I took a path along a canal where I hoped to find a grebe pair. Since a couple of days I have noticed that no heron was to be seen anywhere. A big ? for me.
At the end of the canal I had to decide which way I would carry on to my home and lunch.
I decided to visit the city farm again in Wateringen, where I intended to take some pictures of the lady peacocks.
The male was walking in a very wet closed meadow, the ladies I found at different places. I walked a bit around, there are a lot of animals living there. Last time that I had been there the caretaker had told me that every Monday when they arrived new animals were put there, cocks and hens, etc.
When I nearly left the farm I saw the peacock with the feathers spread around him. One lady was walking there too, eating whatever she found on the ground. The second one came flying upon the gate and from there in the grass.
One thought only I had, ask the caretaker if they would allow me to enter the meadow. He had recognized me from my last visit and he obliged, so I had much better chance to take my pictures.
I took too many, Delete in my middle name now, but had a great opportunity to observe what and how he was doing his dance for the ladies. They simply ignored him. But soon there will be eggs laid and new little peacocks will be born.
I had to choose, and Piet Hein helped me, luckily. I have put a b&w version that I almost preferred to the coloured one at my flickr. If you like it you can see this one here.

My haiku:

The world upside down
Colours to impress the ladies
Peacock man of my heart

And the proverb:

Door de tong en de kleêren werd menigeen misleid.

Translation: Many were disceived through the tongue and the cloths.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.