THE COOTS AT THE POND

are challenging each other!
I went in the morning there, see the sweet new love swan pair, they were bathings for hours or so it seemed. To be at their best for their finest hour.
The Nile geese had started already.
The coots still had to decide who would dance with who. And they all loved to eat oatflakes!
I came home thoroughly cold, I still lived in the idea that spring had begun.
There are some lovely seas of spring flowers planted in the grass around the ponds.
And my heart leaped when I saw a tree full of pretty whote blossom.
In the afternoon I stayed at home, Piet Hein went to the beach, but I preferred to get warm again.

My haiku:

There they fight again
Till one of them surrenders
And leaves the arena

And the proverb:

Daar kan geen vogel voorbij vliegen, of hij/zij moet er een veer van hebben.

Translation: No bird can fligh along, or he/she must have a feather of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.