Mono Monday #15 ....... Mail Box(es) ...

............ my contribution for the Mono Monday Challenge hosted by Rainie ... ....

I had it in mind to try and find as many different kinds of post boxes (mail boxes) as I could - and really wanted one of the, now becoming obsolete, ones set in a wall that is opened from inside the building but I gave up on that idea after I drove into Holbeach to discover that the old sorting office that had one of these is now a private house!!!!

I did manage to find three different styles within four miles of my house - the one on the left is a more modern box and outside Fleet Hargate Post Office, the one in the centre is a "double box" outside Holbeach Post Office and the one on the right is on a 'pole' in our very small village (I avoid using it if at all possible having had a number of items vanish, never to be seen again, after posting through that slot).

More detail

They are all less than 63 years old - the E II R on them stands for Elizabeth (the Second) Regina and she came to the throne in 1952 after the death of her father.

For those that have never seen one of these they are bright red and the bottoms of the two larger ones are black. When I was younger there was always a list of collection times on the plate but it seems they have a "plate for all" nowadays. Progress is not always progress!!!

Unlike a lot of other countries, the postmen in the UK mostly still post our personal mail through letterboxes in our doors but decorative German-style boxes mounted on the wall or gate are becoming more popular - however we haven't yet got multiple boxes at the end of driveways like in the States and other places (at least I haven't seen any although there may be some in rural areas) ......


Thank you for all your lovely comments on the splash of gold in green yesterday .... very much appreciated. Once again I apologise for my lack of commenting on your journals ...... so much to do and so few spare minutes and hours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.