Time to swim, or time to leave?

It has been cool and cloudy day, but lovely warm and clear, sunny evening - so I almost went for swimming here today, at Rauhaniemi Beach. I have been planning to drive to this beach for a long time, but as I finally got there today the weather was cooling down already at 21pm and lake Näsijärvi is so big, windy and deep that the water never is too warm... in the end I just enjoyded the evening sun for a moment and drove back home.

A large shot here, if you like to dive into the scene.

The Rauhaniemi beach and public saunas are built in 1929, the beach and the buildings retain now almost their original appearance.
The small kiosk is open during the summer months; opening times depend on the weather, generally from 10 am to 8 pm. Indoor seating is available upstairs with beautiful views of the lake.
Rauhaniemi Beach has two distinct parts. With its shallow water and playground equipment, the sheltered south side is perfect for children. The rocky north side opens up to Lake Näsijärvi, it it shown in the blip too, and the original two-metre, concrete diving tower from 1920's is still in use.

There are two saunas in Rauhaniemi; a swimsuit is required, as men and women bath togheter. It costs few euros per person to bath there.

One day to go and my holiday starts.

No particular plans for the time. Maybe searching something great to (photo) shoot and I have a dream to excercise and loose weight. Ok, it sounds peculiar plan for holiday, I know, but both would be important to my injured-in-december-knee... Which (to be honest) did dot like my fast little walk to blip the Helsinki cathedral yesterday.

I have been planning to start yoga reharsals again...

Thanks for your nice comments again lately - and now it is time for me to enjoy your blips! See you soon!

Susanna

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.